Cowboy's Back In Town
Album lyrics Trace Adkins

Release date: August 2010

Cowboy's Back in Town is the ninth studio album by American country music artist Trace Adkins. It was released on August 17, 2010 via Show Dog-Universal Music Nashville. The first single, This Ain't No Love Song, was released to radio in May 2010 and debuted at #54 on the U.S. Billboard Hot Country Songs chart for the week of May 22, 2010. Also included on the album is "Ala-Freakin-Bama," a song that charted in late 2009 and was promoted by Adkins's former label, Capitol Records.

Cowboy's Back In Town is the first release for Adkins under his new record deal with Show Dog-Universal Music, after his contract with Capitol Records was fulfilled with the release of 2008's X. Adkins also commented on the recording sessions of the album, saying "Toby has said this new music has a smile on it, and maybe that's just a reflection of where I'm at right now, I have this new sense of invigoration, and making this record was a lot of fun." In an interview with Billboard Magazine, Adkins talked about the album and the title, "I feel as energized and enthusiastic as I did when I first got a record deal, I'm having fun again, so the title 'Cowboy's Back in Town' just made sense to me."

The album debuted at number five on the U.S. Billboard 200 selling 50,000 copies, being his first studio album since Dangerous Man in 2006 to chart in the top 10. It also became his fourth number one album on the U.S. Billboard Top Country Albums. As of the chart dated February 26, 2011, the album has sold 201,713 copies in the US.


Album cover

Trace Adkins Cowboy's Back In Town album cover