Love At The Bottom Of The Sea
Album lyrics The Magnetic Fields

Release date: March 2012

Love at the Bottom of the Sea is an album by The Magnetic Fields. It was released on March 5, 2012 by Domino Records in the UK and March 6, 2012 by Merge Records in the US. The album was recorded by Stephin Merritt and Charles Newman at Bell Tree (LA); Mother West, Serious Business Records, Dubway Studios (all NYC); and Tiny Telephone (SF).

It is the band's first release with Merge since 1999's 69 Love Songs. After releasing three albums relatively free of synthesizers as part of a "no-synth trilogy" (2004's i, 2008's Distortion, and 2010s Realism), Love at the Bottom of the Sea features the blend of acoustic and synthesized instruments that the band was known for in the 90's. Stephin Merritt claims he took a fresh approach with the instrumentation, stating "Most of the synthesizers on the record didn't exist when we were last using synthesizers." All of the tracks on the album are less than three minutes long.


Album cover

The Magnetic Fields Love At The Bottom Of The Sea album cover