There Are Rules
Album lyrics The Get Up Kids

Release date: January 2011

There Are Rules is the fifth studio album by The Get Up Kids, the band's first full-length release since 2004's Guilt Show. The album was released on January 25, 2011.

In the summer of 2009, The Get Up Kids entered the studio with longtime collaborator Ed Rose to begin writing their first new material since breaking up in 2005. Over the course of several months, they recorded a total of nine songs using entirely analog equipment. Originally, they planned to record three more songs and release a series of three 12" vinyl EPs in 2010. However, this plan was scrapped after the release of Simple Science, the first of the planned series, and the band instead decided to combine the remaining tracks with more new material and release a full-length album.

Unlike their previous three albums, There Are Rules will not be released on Vagrant Records, with whom the band parted amicably. Instead, the album will be released through the band's own Quality Hill Records, named after the historic Quality Hill neighborhood in the band's hometown of Kansas City, MO. The album was mixed by Shellac bassist Bob Weston, who produced the band's debut album Four Minute Mile.


Album cover

The Get Up Kids There Are Rules album cover