The Real Story
Album lyrics Sylvia

Release date: June 1996

The Real Story is the sixth studio album from country singer Sylvia. Sylvia's first independent album, The Real Story, was released from Red Pony Records, her own record label. "The Real Story" was described as a "transition this multi-talented singer/songwriter has gone through over the past few years.

"The Real Story isn't a headline, saying this is who I am", she says. "To me, it means the truth comes from more than one point of view. It's not for me to fully define it." As much as anything, The Real Story is about the transition this multi-talented singer/songwriter has gone through over the past few years. Sylvia's reemergence as a recording artist comes after a period of personal growth that has brought her into contact with some of Nashville's finest songwriters and musicians, as well as her own deeper well.

With guitarist/co-producer John Mock lending his exquisite hand and ear, she delves into diverse musical terrain. The album has an acoustic, genuine feel, highlighting Sylvia's warm and clear voice. The songs range from intimate ballads to the up-tempo title song, "The Real Story." She co-writes with well-known tunesmiths Verlon Thompson, Craig Bickhardt, and Kent Robbins.

Sylvia was invited by Rod Kennedy to perform at the Kerrville Folk Festival in May of 1996 and be a part of the songwriter's workshop with Michael Johnson. She has also shared the stage with Arlo Guthrie, Kenny Rogers, Merle Haggard, Alabama and many others. Sylvia's extensive television appearances include Austin City Limits, The Country Music Awards, The Grammy Awards, and the Academy of Country Music Awards.

During the hectic pace of Sylvia the hit recording artist, Sylvia the songwriter was born. Sylvia is reclaiming her voice and taking it to the public with a new album and new label. The Real Story is the next chapter of her work-in-progress.


  • 1.Soon As I Find My Voice
  • 2.I've Been Down Too Long
  • 3.Chance Encounter
  • 4.Hand-Me-Down
  • 5.Even A Cowboy Can Dream
  • 6.See How Much I Love You
  • 7.Sweet Shall Your Welcome Be
  • 8.The Real Story
  • 9.Whole Heart
  • 10.Thank God I'm Coming Home
  • 11.(I Love You) More Than It Has Ever Rained
  • 12.Sonoma
  • 13.I Will Not Forget You