This Is Acting
Album lyrics Sia

Release date: January 29, 2016

Label: Inertia Records, Monkey Puzzle Records, RCA Records

Produced by: Jesse Shatkin, Greg Kurstin, Jack Antonoff, Jake Sinclair, Kanye West, Noah Goldstein, 88-Keys, Dom $olo, T-Minus, Josh Valle, Nikhil Seetharam, Cameron Deyell, Christopher Braide

This Is Acting is the seventh studio album by Australian singer-songwriter Sia, released on January 29, 2016 through Inertia, Monkey Puzzle and RCA Records. Production was mainly handled by Jesse Shatkin and Greg Kurstin, but it also features input from Jack Antonoff, Jake Sinclair, Kanye West, Cameron Deyell among others.

Speaking about the album's title, Sia explained: "I'm calling it This Is Acting because they are songs I was writing for other people, so I didn't go in thinking 'this is something I would say'. It's more like play-acting. It's fun." The album is composed of songs written by Sia which were rejected by other artists, such as Adele, Rihanna, and Katy Perry.

The album debuted at number one on the ARIA Albums chart, and also reached number four on the Billboard 200, with first-week sales of 81,000 copies, becoming Sia's highest first week sales in the US.


Album cover

Sia This Is Acting album cover