Love Letter For Fire
Album lyrics Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop

Release date: April 15, 2016

Label: Sub Pop Records

Produced by: Tucker Martine

Love Letter For Fire is a collaborative record from songwriters Sam Beam (Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop, released on April 15, 2016 through Sub Pop Records. Recorded in Portland, Oregon with producer Tucker Martine, the album features a collection of handpicked musicians: Rob Burger, a frequent Iron & Wine contributor, Sebastian Steinberg (Soul Coughing, Fiona Apple), Teddy Rankin-Parker (Primus), Eyvind Kang (Decemberists/Tzadik and Ipecac labels) and Glenn Kotche (Wilco).

The inspiration behind Love Letter For Fire was Sam's love of classic duets, most of which are ones he grew up hearing on the radio. "Some of my favorite songs are duets, because the narrative is expanded. It's not just a monologue. It's a conversation, and so it gets complicated. I had melodies over the years that I'd been compiling that I thought, this sounds like a classic Kenny and Dolly, 'Islands in the Stream' kind of thing, or George and Tammy".

Sam Beam said about the creative process: "Jesca brought a lot of energy and a lot of heart in places where I would be cerebral, she would bring heart. In places where I would be steady, she would add an exclamation point."


Album cover

Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop Love Letter For Fire album cover