It Won't Be Soon Before Long
Album lyrics Maroon 5

Release date: May 2007

It Won't Be Soon Before Long is Maroon 5's second studio album, released on May 22, 2007. It came almost a full five years after their debut, Songs About Jane. The name was inspired by a phrase the band adopted to keep themselves motivated while on their tour. The album debuted at number one on the U.S. Billboard 200, selling 429,484 copies in its first week.

It Won't Be Soon Before Long has twelve songs, plus 7 bonus tracks. The band stated in interviews that the album has a different feel to it from the Songs About Jane. The songs are not all based on one specific relationship, as in Jane; and also have a different sound than their first album, being more electric and drawing inspiration from such artists as the Talking Heads, Michael Jackson and Prince. A review written prior to the album's release described the songs as having a very retro feel. Adam Levine explained that this record is a little more self-confident and powerful lyrically: " can dance to it, there's a little more attitude."

According to Levine working with other artists had influences on the album: "Kanye West and Alicia Keys are amazing talents, in totally different ways. Just seeing such amazing people working in the studio. I definitely took things away from them."

The chorus of "Nothing Lasts Forever" is the same used in the Kanye West single "Heard 'Em Say", which features Adam Levine with exclusion to the line, "...the distance between us makes it so hard to stay...". The song has also featured in a trailer for the movie Definitely, Maybe.

Although the album had some explicit lyrics this has not earned it a Parental Advisory label.

It Won't Be Soon Before Long was reissued in expanded form July 8 and June 29 in Australia via A&M/Octone. The package included a bonus DVD with four music videos and a full concert shot last year in Montreal.

In addition, the original CD is bolstered with five B-sides: "Infatuation," "Miss You Love You," "Until You're Over Me," "Story" and "Losing My Mind." Also tacked onto the track list is "If I Never See Your Face Again," Maroon 5's new single featuring Rihanna.