Division Street
Album lyrics Harper Simon

Release date: March 2013

Division Street is the second studio album by American singer-songwriter Harper Simon, released on March 26, 2013 through Tulsi Records/PIAS. It was produced by Harper and Tom Rothrock, best known for his work with Elliott Smith and Beck. It features drummer Pete Thomas from Elvis Costello's Attractions, Nikolai Fraiture from the Strokes, Bright Eyes' Nate Walcott and Mikael Jorgensen from the band Wilco, among others.

"I wrote all the music and all the lyrics, and it's a guitar-driven record and the guitar is played by me. It's mostly the sound of me and Pete putting it down live, the two of us. Then other players, great ones, came later and overdubbed. [...] Maybe I had a lack of confidence on the first record, so I wanted the involvement of more established writers to set the bar high," explained Simon. "This time, I felt I should carry it all myself."


Album cover

Harper Simon Division Street album cover