Delirium Soundtrack
Album lyrics Cirque Du Soleil

Release date: June 2006

Delirium was a Cirque du Soleil live music event partnered with Live Nation (formerly known as Clear Channel Entertainment). Contrary to the traditional Cirque show that plays over multiple weeks in a city at a time under their trademark tent or in a theater used only by Cirque du Soleil, Delirium was a multimedia/theatrical production that featured remixes of existing Cirque music and reinterpretations of performances. The show premiered on February 26, 2006 and made its final performance in London, England on April 20, 2008.

Delirium's theme is about the story of Bill, an urban individual who has lulled into the areas of conformism. Through the unique staging and music of Delirium, the actors attempt to awaken Bill's senses and show him new experiences about the world around him. The subtext of Delirium conveys that we must all break away from the shelters of solitude in our lives and join together if we wish to survive.

The score of Delirium is made up of several remixes of original Cirque du Soleil songs, arranged by producer Francis Collard, with new lyrics composed by Robbie Dillion. 21 of Cirque du Soleil's most 'popular' song were selected by a creative team to be re-written and arranged to include predominantly English only lyrical pieces with a pop, rock inspired influence. Original songs were chosen from Alegría, Alegría the Film, Dralion, La Nouba, O, Quidam, Saltimbanco and Varekai.

The music was the central interest of Delirium, and the band and singers were always present and in view, on stage. In addition to the actual concert, a 20 minute pre-show presented by Canadian artist Nitza was performed. Delirium featured three main singers when the show opened, with three backing singers. After the departure of the original singers, the show became much more balanced out in terms of songs, and the three principals became four. The original singers in Delirium were Elie Haroun, Jacynthe Millette-Bilodeau, and Dessy Di Lauro returning after featuring in La Nouba. Juliana Sheffield and brothers Karim Diouf and El Hadji "Elage" Diouf were also featured singers.

The Delirium CD was released on the 20th of June, 2006. While much of the music on the CD resembled the live score, the band was much less featured with studio musicians filling the roles, including Francis Collard appearing to play various instruments. The soundtrack also features guest performers including Ginette Reno and French rapper Kodiak. Juliana Sheffield has limited exposure, and the Diouf brothers vocals were completely excluded.


Album cover

Cirque Du Soleil Delirium Soundtrack album cover