Year Of The Rabbit
Album lyrics Allison Pierce

Release date: May 05, 2017

Label: Sony Music Masterworks

Produced by: Ethan Johns

Year Of The Rabbit is the debut solo studio album by singer songwriter Allison Pierce, released on May 5, 2017 through Sony Music Masterworks. The album was produced and recorded by Ethan Johns at Sunset Sound, Los Angeles, California. Recorded in analog straight to magnetic tape, the album was mostly performed by Allison and Ethan Johns. The only outside contributors were Gabe Witcher, who supplied fiddle on two tracks, and Greg Leisz, who played pedal steel on another.

"This album feels like the most important creative outpouring of my life so far," said Allison of the album. "It feels like the most genuine expression of who I am, musically and personally.[...] Over the years, I'd write these songs knowing they weren't Pierces songs, and I collected them in anticipation of the day when I could record them myself. I'd envisioned the whole thing, so I was ready, and waiting patiently for the opportunity to make it."


Album cover

Allison Pierce Year Of The Rabbit album cover