Album lyrics Agnes Obel

Release date: September 2013

Aventine is the second studio album by Danish singer-songwriter Agnes Obel, released on September 30, 2013 through Play It Again Sam. Aventine was recorded at Chalk Wood Studios in Berlin between January and May 2013. Like Philharmonics, the album was written, arranged, and produced by Agnes, who provides piano and vocals. Anne Müller, who has also played with Nils Frahm, adds cello, Mika Posen of Timber Timbre plays the violin and viola on "The Curse", "Pass Them By" and "Fivefold" and Robert Kondorossi of Budzillus plays guitar on "Pass Them By".

"While touring Philharmonics I kept on getting all these ideas for recording, and I wanted to explore the cello and other string instruments," said Agnes of Aventine. "I recorded everything quite closely, miking everything closely in a small room, with voices here, the piano here - everything is close to you. So it's sparse, but by varying the dynamic range of the songs I could create almost soundscapes. I was able to make something feel big with just these few instruments."

Aventine debuted at number one on the Danish Albums chart.


Album cover

Agnes Obel Aventine album cover