Album lyrics Adele

Release date: January 2008

19 is the debut album by English singer-songwriter Adele. It was released on 28 January 2008, the week after the lead single, "Chasing Pavements", was physically released. It debuted at number one on the UK charts on its first week. Included is a cover of the Bob Dylan song "Make You Feel My Love" from his 1997 album, Time Out Of Mind.

The album was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Prize in the category of Best Album. On 3 December 2008, the album spawned four Grammy Award nominations: Best New Artist, and Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for "Chasing Pavements". The following year, she received a second consecutive nomination for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance, for "Hometown Glory", but lost to "Halo" by Beyoncé.

The Taiwanese edition was released on 5 March. As well as the standard tracklist, the album features three bonus tracks: "That's It I Quit I'm Movin' On" ("Chasing Pavements" B-side), "Now and Then" ("Cold Shoulder" B-side) and "Painting Pictures" ("Make You Feel My Love" B-side). The Indonesian special edition was released on 3 March. As well as the standard tracklist, the album features a bonus video for "Chasing Pavements".

In July 2008 Adele informed noted UK soul writer Pete Lewis of the award-winning Blues & Soul that the reason for naming her debut album '19' was to reflect her age while she was writing it: "I just kinda remember becoming a bit of a woman during that time. And I think that is definitely documented in the songs."

In the U.S 19 debuted at #56 and remained in the lower ends of the Billboard 200 for many proceeding weeks. After a performance on the U.S show "Saturday Night Live" it rose to #46 and a week later to #11 with sales of 25,000+ copies sold. In 2009, after winning 2 Grammy Awards, the album rose to a new peak of #10 on the Billboard 200 and total sales reached 843,880, leading to a the album being certified Gold by the RIAA.